Arrell Gibson Lifetime Achievement Award, Oklahoma Center for the Book, 2016
Lifetime Achievement Award, Native Writers' Circle of the Americas, 2014
Distinguished Alumni Award, Alumni Association, University of Missouri, 2012
Artist Innovation Grant, Kansas Arts Commission, 2010
Honorary Master of Arts Degree, Macalester College, May 15, 2010
Expressive Arts Grant, National Museum of the American Indian, Washington, D.C., 2009
William Rockhill Nelson Award, The Writer’s Place and the Kansas City Star, 2008
MAP (Multi-Arts Production Grant), Creative Capital Foundation and the Rockefeller
Foundation, 2007
Distinguished Alumni Award, University of Central Oklahoma, 2006
Envision 2005 Retreat, Voice & Vision Theatre, Bard College
National Endowment for the Arts, 2003, 1990
Juniper Prize, University of Massachusetts Press, 2003
Arts and Science Distinguished Alumni Award, University of Missouri, 2003
Jerome Travel Grant, 2003, 1995, 1990
Oklahoma Book Award, 2003
Wallace Faculty Travel Grant, Macalester College, 2002, 2001, 1999, 1993
Works-in-Progress Fellowship, Red Eye Theatre, Minneapolis, 2001
Pablo Neruda Prize for Poetry, Nimrod Journal, University of Tulsa, 2001
Cherokee Medal of Honor, Cherokee Honor Society, Tahlequah, Oklahoma, 2001
Stevens Poetry Prize, National Federation of State Poetry Societies, 2001
Thomas Jefferson Teaching / Scholarship Award, Macalester College, 2001
Many Voices Playwriting Fellowship, Playwrights' Center, Minneapolis, 2001, 1995
McKnight Artist Fellowship, Loft Award of Distinction for Creative Prose, 1999
Sundance Screenwriting Fellowship, U.C.L.A., 1998
Wordcraft Circle of Native Writers, Prose - Playwriting Award, 1997
Minnesota Humanities Commission Grant, 1997
Career Initiative Grant, 1996, The Loft, Minneapolis
Provincetown Art Center Residency, Provincetown, Massachusetts, 1995
Five Civilized Tribes Playwriting Laureate Prize, 1994-1996, 1988-1990, 1984-1986
Blandin Private College Foundation Grants, 1994, 1991, 1990
American Book Award, The Before Columbus Foundation, 1993
Emily Dickinson Poetry Prize, Poetry Society of America, 1993
Minnesota Book Award 1992
Native American Prose Award, University of Nebraska Press, Lincoln,1991
Minnesota State Arts Board Fellowship, 1990
Diverse Visions Grant, Intermedia Arts Minnesota, 1990
National Endowment for the Humanities, Summer Institute Newberry Library, Chicago, 1990
Creative NonFiction Fellowship, The Loft, Minneapolis, 1990
Charles Nilon Minority Fiction Award, University of Colorado, Boulder, 1990
Jones Commission Grant for Play Development, Playwrights Center, Minneapolis, 1989
Capricorn Prize for Poetry, Writer’s Voice, New York, 1988
Frances C. Allen Fellowship, D'Arcy McNickle Center for the History of the American Indian,
Newberry Library, Chicago, 1988
Edwin Piper Fellowship, University of Iowa, 1988
Equal Opportunity Fellowship, University of Iowa, 1987-88
Oklahoma Theater Award, 1987
Lakes and Prairies Prize, Milkweed Editions, 1986
Tulsa Arts and Humanities Council Grant, 1983
Diane Glancy
Awards, Grants and Fellowships